Thankful Throwback Thrusday

Throwback Thankful Thursday here under the maple leaves.

10 days, and 30 years ago, I said “I do” to my husband.

As I think back over the last 30 years, I think I got the better end of that deal.

A friend said of her husband, “We have been happy together and we have been miserable together.

The key word there is together. ”  I  like that observation.

My husband and I have had much happy together, much wonderful together,

and yes,  even a little miserable together. But again, the key word there is together.

Having been everything from a size 8 to 18, I have often joked that my husband loves me

through thick and thin. But what started as a joke about my size, is a resounding truth in my life. It has been said that in every joke there is a nugget of truth, and there is whopper of

truth in that statement. He does love me through the thick and thin, the good and bad, grumpy and pleasant, for better or for worse, for richer and for poorer, in sickness and in health.

Over the past 30 years, he has loved me, for me, He has loved me even when I frustrate him and growl and get loud.

( Truth be told, yes, he has had his time of being a bear, he is human after all.

And I love him for him too,-not just for his rugged good looks

dry sense of humor,  generosity, or just for his  thoughtfulness and chivalry.

He can make me madder than anyone else,

and hurt my feelings deeper than anyone else. Those things happen when humans

love humans deeply and live together day in and day out.)

But as I look over the past 30 years, I see a man who has grown in wisdom, gown in grace,

who loved me and continues to love me day in and day out. I have seen first hand the love of Christ in our marriage as both have forgiven me of some really BIG,

really stupid, really expensive mistakes. My husband has encouraged me

to be a godly wife and mother-sometimes in word, but often just by

his character. He is diligent and hard working. He is a planner.

(Boy I must be a thorn in his flesh at times).

He is the love of my life and I am extremely grateful that God blessed me with him.

Early in our marriage, I wondered if I married the “right” man. (That thought process

was really kind of foolish-not to mention extremely selfish and prideful- because I believed divorce was not an option for me, and I knew once I said “I do” he BECAME my Mr. Right.

At this stage of our lives, I am extremely thankful for the right man I married.

I love you Mr. Prahl, and am so thankful you chose me as your Mrs.580554_647436775278640_618385335_n (1) 995551_647436708611980_1880192914_n (1)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful Throwback Thrusday

  1. Okay, I just checked this and my revisions and edits were lost. : (
    I have got to figure how to set my margins and so on.
    Not going to make the time to fix it ( again at this moment) …..
    life away from the computer is calling, I will try to correct things later today.

  2. Brittany says:

    So sweet! Stephen and I have said time and time again how thankful we are for such Godly examples in ours lives, and also having equally amazing in-laws! Can’t explain how thankful I am for y’all being family, and the son you have raised “together”. Love you both! And here’s to 30 more 🙂

Leave a Reply

